Hot! Recognizing Asian Television’s Finest at the 19th Asian Television Awards 2014

Asian TV Awards

PHOTOS: Chai Chok Keun

Attended by the people behind Asia’s popular television programmes, this year’s Asian Television Awards 2014 was held last 11th December 2014 at the iconic Marina Bay Sands, Singapore.

Receiving around 1,371 entries from 119 terrestrial, cable and satellite broadcasters and networks from more than 14 countries across Asia Pacific, this marks a 10% increase from last year’s submissions.

Hosted by Harith Iskander, Asia’s best stand-up comedian, together with George Young, Sazzy Falak and Stephanie Carrington, this year’s star-studded event showcased 43 awards including; 38 competing awards, the coveted final 4 awards. Key highlight to this year’s awards is the “Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television” that was presented to the President/CEO of Metan Global Entertainment Group – Larry Namer.

Asian TV Awards MediaCorp

Biggest winner is for the night is – MediaCorp, winning the highly-coveted Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year for the 11th time at the annual event. This year, MediaCorp garnered record 39 nominations, double the nominations it had last year. MediaCorp won a total of eight awards this year.

MediaCorp Channel 5’s Spouse for House sitcom swept some of the major awards including Best original Screenplay, Best Comedy Programme and Irene Ang took home the Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress.

Asian TV Awards Pierre Png

Actor Pierre Png won the award for Best Leading Actor in Channel 5’s Zero Calling. “Those who say it’s enough to be nominated … they are lying. This is the best feeling in the world,” said Pierre, who was nominated twice in the category, on his win.

Asian TV Awards Puteri Balqis Azizi

Malaysian actress Puteri Balqis Azizi, became the youngest award winner for Best Leading Actress at the age of 7 year old for Balqis – a TV3 telemovie. She beats other seasoned nominees like Serangoon Roads – Joanne Chen, A Good Wife – Tien Hsin and Sudden’s – Rui En.

Asian TV Awards Hsieh Chiung-Hsuan

Taiwan Actress Hsieh Chiung-Hsuan won the award for Best actress in a Supporting Role for “Lonely River” at Hakka Television Station. She won a similar award in October at Taiwan’s 2014 Golden Bell Awards for television and radio. “I’m really thrilled … I love Taiwan,” Hsieh said.

Asian TV Awards Rayson Tan

Rayson Tan won the award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for the drama Entangled. “The word ‘happy’ cannot even begin to describe how I feel right now. I feel like I have persevered till the clouds parted and finally saw the light of success,” said Rayson with moist eyes. “MediaCorp has supported me for 24 years. Today I finally had the chance to thank the company on stage.”

Other winners for this year include:

  • Best News Presenter or Anchor

Rajdeep Sardesai
The Verdict -TV18 CNN-IBN, India

  • Best Current Affairs Programme

Undercover Asia
Invisible Children – Channel News Asia, Singapore

  • Best Talk Show

We the People – NDTV 24×7, India

  • Best Cinematography

Veerdhawal Puranik
Buddha Pictures Ltd.; Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd, Zee TV, India

  • Best Infotainment Programme

I Wouldn’t Go In There – Philippines Haunted Hospital
National Geographic Channel Asia, Hong Kong

  • Best Entertainment ( One-Off/Annual)

Woolworths Carols in the Domain 2013
Seven Network, Channel 7, 7TWO, Australia

  • Best General Entertainment Programme

Battleground 2013 – The Space
Systems Sdn Bhd, Astro Wah Lai Toi, Malaysia

  • Best Comedy Programme

Spouse for House
MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 5; Singapore

  • Best Game or Quiz Programme

The Cube Season 2
Shanghai Media Group; Dragon TV, China

  • Best Digital Fiction & Non-Fiction Programme Series

Who Killed the Lead
MediaCorp Pte Ltd; xinmsn; Produced by WaWa Pictures Pte Ltd

  • Best Original Screenplay

Tan Wei-Lyn & Lillian Wang
Spouse For House; MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 5, Singapore

  • Best Editing

Grace Xiao
Access 360° World Heritage Series 2 – Angkor Wat
Fox International Channels Asia; National Geographic Channel Asia, Hong Kong
Produced by Infocus Asia Pte Ltd

  • Best Theme Song

Mo Ju Li
The Journey: A Voyage; MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 8, Singapore

  • Best 2D Animated Programme

The Flamin’ Thongs – Nobody Likes A Smart House
MWP-RDB Thongs Pty Ltd, ABC Television, ABC3, Australia

  • Best 3D Animated Programme

One Animation Pte Ltd; MTV Networks Asia Pacific, Nickelodeon, Singapore

  • Best Children’s Programme

Bushwhacked – Series 2
Australian Children’s Television Foundation
Australian Broadcasting Commission, ABC3, Australia
Produced by Mint Pictures

  • Best Preschool Programme

Spiny Shiny Grocery Store
Taiwan Public Television Service; PTS, Taiwan

  • Best Sports Presenter/Commentator

Andrew “ET” Ettingshausen – Ultimate Fish: PNG Bass
Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, Discovery Channel, Singapore
Produced by ET Productions

  • Best Reality Show

MasterChef: The Professionals
Shine International; A+E Networks, Lifetime, Singapore
Produced by Shine Australia

  • Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress

Irene Ang
Spouse for House; MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 5, Singapore

  • Best Lifestyle Programme

Invite Mr. Wright: China
Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, TLC, Singapore
Produced by Roast Beef Productions

  • Best Current Affairs Presenter

Kristie Lu Stout
On China; CNN International, Hong Kong

  • Best Music Programme

Celebrity Battle
Jiangsu Broadcasting Corporation; JSBC Satellite Chanel, China

  • Best Entertainment Presenter/Host

Simon Yin
Hidden Cities Extreme Season 2; A+E Networks Asia; History™, Singapore
Produced by Beach House Pictures Pte Ltd

  • Best Adaptation of an Existing Format

Junior MasterChef Swaad Ke Ustaad
Shine International; STAR India Private Limited, STAR Plus, Singapore
Produced by Colosceum Media Pvt Ltd

  • Best Direction

Kate Siney & Jenny Ewig
Access 360° World Heritage Series 2 – Sagrada Familia; Fox International Channels Asia, National Geographic Channel Asia, Hong Kong
Produced by Infocus Asia Pte Ltd

  • Best Single Drama or Telemovie

Taichi Yamada’s Time Never Stops
TV Asahi Corporation; TV Asahi, Japan
Co-produced with Union Motion Picture Co., Ltd

  • Best Drama Series

Naoki Hanzawa
Tokyo Broadcasting System Television, Inc., TBS TV, Inc., Japan

  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Hsieh Chiung-Hsuan
Lonely River; Hakka Television Station; Hakka TV, Taiwan

  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Rayson Tan
Entangled; MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 8, Singapore

  • Best Actress in a Leading Role

Puteri Balqis Azizi
Balqis; Media Prima Berhad; Sistem Televisyen Malaysia Berhad, TV3, Malaysia
Produced by Rumah Karya Citra Sdn Bhd

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role

Pierre Png
Zero Calling; MediaCorp Pte Ltd; Channel 5, Singapore
Produced by Weiyu Films

  • Cable & Satellite Channel of the Year

CNN International, Hong Kong

  • Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year

MediaCorp Pte Ltd, Singapore

  • Cable & Satellite Network of the Year

CNN International, Hong Kong

Leave a Comment